MID DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

MINUTES of a MEETING of the COUNCIL held on 5 January 2017 at 6.00 pm

Present

Councillors W J Daw (Chairman)

Mrs H Bainbridge, Mrs A R Berry,
Mrs J B Binks, Mrs C Collis,
Mrs F J Colthorpe, D R Coren, Mrs G Doe,
C J Eginton, R Evans, S G Flaws,
P H D Hare-Scott, P J Heal, T G Hughes,
Mrs B M Hull, F W Letch, B A Moore,
Mrs J Roach, Mrs E J Slade,
Miss C E L Slade, C R Slade, T W Snow,
J D Squire, Mrs M E Squires, R L Stanley,
L D Taylor, N A Way, Mrs N Woollatt and

R Wright

Apologies

Councillors Mrs E M Andrews, K Busch, R J Chesterton,

N V Davey, Mrs C P Daw, R M Deed, J M Downes, Mrs S Griggs, R F Radford

and F J Rosamond

116 **Apologies**

The following apologies were received from: Cllrs: Mrs E M Andrews, K I Busch, R J Chesterton, Mrs C P Daw, N V Davey, R M Deed, J M Downes, Mrs S Griggs, R F Radford and F J Rosamond.

117 Public Question Time

There were no members of the public present.

118 Chairman's Announcements (00-02-01)

The Chairman wished those present a Happy New Year but had no announcements to make.

119 **Petitions (00-02-19)**

There were no petitions from members of the public.

120 Notices of Motions (00-02-20)

There were no motions to be considered.

121 Access to Information - Exclusion of Press and Public

Prior to considering item7 on the agenda discussion took place as to whether it was necessary to pass the following resolution to exclude the press and public having reflected on Article 12 12.02(d) (a presumption in favour of openness) of the Constitution. The Council decided that in all the circumstances of the case, the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighed the public interest in disclosing the information.

RESOLVED that under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 the public be excluded from the next item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 1 respectively of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Act, namely information relating to an individual.

(Proposed by the Chairman)

122 Appointment

Following interviews for the position of Monitoring officer, the Chief Executive made a recommendation to the Council.

Further to discussions with regard to the candidates and the process that had taken place, the meeting returned to open session.

Councillor Mrs J Roach **MOVED** seconded by Councillor Mrs M E Squires that the recommendation of the Chief Executive be approved and that Ms Kathryn Tebbey be appointed as the new Monitoring Officer from 10 April 2017.

Upon a vote being taken, the **MOTION** was declared to have been **CARRIED**.

(The meeting ended at 6.09 pm)

CHAIRMAN